CMA Board & Committees

Officers and Board of Directors

Carolyn Heitman (President 2018-2020)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
833 Oldfather Hall
Department of Anthropology
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68588-0368
phone: (402) 472-7957
email: heitman@unl.edu

Robert Leopold (Past-President 2018-2020)
Deputy Director, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Smithsonian Institution
600 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 2001
PO Box 37012, MRC 052
Washington, DC 20013-7012
phone: (212) 633-5086
email: leopold@si.edu

Cara Krmpotich (President-Elect 2018-2020)
Associate Professor and Director of Museum Studies Program
University of Toronto
BL 631
Toronto, ON M5S 3G6
phone: (417) 978-7802
email: cara.krmpotich@utoronto.ca

Jennifer Kramer (Treasurer 2018-2020)
Curator, Pacific Northwest, Museum of Anthropology, and Associate Professor of Anthropology
University of British Columbia
6393 NW Marine Drive
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z2
phone: (604) 8229851
email: jennifer.kramer@ubc.ca

Diana E. Marsh (Secretary 2018-2020)
Postdoctoral Fellow, National Anthropological Archives,
Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
4210 Silver Hill Road
Suitland, MD 20746
phone: (301) 238-1190
email: marshd@si.edu

Adrian Van Allen (Board member 2017-2020)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Departement de la recherche et de l’enseignement
Musée du Quai Branly
37 Quai Branly,
75007 Paris, France
phone: +33 1 56 61 70 00
email: adrian@adrianv.com

Sowparnika Balaswaminathan (Student Board member 2017-2019)
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Anthropology
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, Dept. 0532
La Jolla, CA 92093-0532
phone: (858) 534-2230
email: sbalaswaminathan@ucsd.edu

Joshua A. Bell
 (Board member 2017-2020)
Curator of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology
PO Box 37012
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, District of Columbia 20013
phone: (202) 633-1935
email: bellja@si.edu

Christy DeLair (Board member 2018-2021)
Curator, Longyear Museum of Anthropology
Colgate University
115 Alumni Hall
13 Oak Drive
Hamilton, NY 13346230
 
phone: 315-228-6643
email: cdelair@colgate.edu

Erica Lehrer (Board member 2017-2020)
Associate Professor, History, Sociology, Anthropology
Canada Research Chair in Museum & Heritage Studies
S-LB 1029-03
J.W. McConnell Building,
1400 De Maisonneuve W.
phone: (514) 848-2424 ext. 5463
email: erica.lehrer@concordia.ca

David Odo (Board member 2018-2021)
Director of Student Programs and Research Curator of University Collections Initiatives
Harvard Art Museums
32 Quincy Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
phone: (617) 495-0765
email: david_odo@harvard.edu

Emily Stokes-Rees (Board member 2018-2021)
Associate Professor of Museum Studies
Genet Gallery, The Nancy Cantor Warehouse
350 West Fayette Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
phone: (315) 443-2455
email: ewstokes@syr.edu

Editor, Museum Anthropology

Lea S. McChesney
Curator of Ethnology
Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
MSC01 1050
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
phone: (505) 277-1936
email: lsmcches@unm.edu

Editorial Manager, Museum Anthropology

Laura W. Steele
Graduate Student
Department of Anthropology
MSC01-1040, Anthropology 1
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
email: lsteele@unm.edu

Committees for 2018-2019, coming soon!

 

Committees for 2017-2018

CMA Nominations Committee: Robert Leopold (Chair), Carolyn Heitman, Corinne Kratz

CMA Awards Committee: W. Warner Wood (Chair), Adrian Van Allen, Karl Hoerig, Joshua Bell

CMA Committee on Book Award: Joshua Bell, Adrian Van Allen, Hannah Turner, W. Warner Wood

CMA Committee on Journal: Gwendolyn Saul (Chair), Diana Marsh, Erica Lehrer, Lea McChesney

CMA Communications Committee: Diana Marsh (Chair), Corinne Kratz, Lillia McEnaney

CMA Reception Committee for San Jose Meeting: Robert Leopold, Karl Hoerig, Adrian Van Allen + 1 at-large local members

CMA Committee on Conference: Joshua Bell, Erica Lehrer, Sowparnika Balaswaminathan + host members