CMA Board & Committees

Officers and Board of Directors

Carolyn Heitman (President 2018-2020)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
833 Oldfather Hall
Department of Anthropology
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68588-0368
phone: (402) 472-7957
email: heitman@unl.edu

Robert Leopold (Past-President 2018-2020)
Deputy Director, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Smithsonian Institution
600 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 2001
PO Box 37012, MRC 052
Washington, DC 20013-7012
phone: (212) 633-5086
email: leopold@si.edu

Cara Krmpotich (President-Elect 2018-2020)
Associate Professor and Director of Museum Studies Program
University of Toronto
Faculty of Information
Toronto, ON M5S 3G6
phone: (416) 978-7802
email: cara.krmpotich@utoronto.ca

Jennifer Kramer (Treasurer 2018-2020)
Curator, Pacific Northwest, Museum of Anthropology, and Associate Professor of Anthropology
University of British Columbia
6393 NW Marine Drive
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z2
phone: (604) 8229851
email: jennifer.kramer@ubc.ca

Diana E. Marsh (Secretary 2018-2020)
Assistant Professor of Archives and Digital Curation
College of Information Studies (iSchool),
University of Maryland – College Park
Hornbake Library-South
phone: TBD
email: dmarsh@umd.edu

Adrian Van Allen (Board member 2017-2020)
Associate Researcher, Dept. of Anthropology
California Academy of Sciences
1063 54th St
Oakland, CA 94608
email: adrian@adrianv.com

Kristin Otto (Student board member 2020-2022)
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Anthropology
Indiana University
416 N Indiana Avenue
Bloomington, IN. 47408
phone: (812) 344-0872
email: krotto@indiana.edu

Joshua A. Bell
 (Board member 2017-2020)
Curator of Globalization,
Department of Anthropology, MRC 112
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
10th and Constitution Ave. NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20013
phone: (202) 633-1935
email: bellja@si.edu

Christy DeLair (Board member 2018-2021)
Director, Pick Museum of Anthropology
Department of Anthropology, Stevens 185
Northern Illinois University
1425 W. Lincoln Highway
DeKalb, IL 60115
phone: 815-753-0246
email: cdelair@niu.edu

Erica Lehrer (Board member 2017-2020)
Canada Research Chair in Museum and Heritage Studies
Departments of History and Sociology-Anthropology
LB-1029.03
Concordia University
1400 Demaisonneuve Blvd.
Montreal, QC, H3G1M8
phone: (514) 848-2424 ext. 5463
email: erica.lehrer@concordia.ca

David Odo (Board member 2018-2021)
Director of Student Programs and Research Curator of University Collections Initiatives
Harvard Art Museums
32 Quincy Street, Cambridge, MA 02138
phone: (617) 495-0765
email: david_odo@harvard.edu

Emily Stokes-Rees (Board member 2018-2021)
Associate Professor, Museum Studies
Genet Gallery, The Nancy Cantor Warehouse
350 West Fayette Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
phone: (315) 443-2455
email: ewstokes@syr.edu

Editor, Museum Anthropology

Emily Stokes-Rees
Associate Professor, Museum Studies
Genet Gallery, The Nancy Cantor Warehouse
350 West Fayette Street
Syracuse, NY 13202
phone: (315) 443-2455
email: ewstokes@syr.edu

Phaedra Livingstone
Professor and Program Coordinator
Museum and Cultural Management
Story Arts Centre
951 Carlaw Avenue
Toronto, ON

Centennial College
phone: 416-289-5000 Ext. 8611
email: plivingstone@centennialcollege.ca

Committees for 2019-2020

CMA Nominations Committee: Carolyn Heitman (Chair), Cara Krmpotich, David Odo, Robert Leopold

CMA Awards Committee: Adrian Van Allen (Chair), Jennifer Kramer, Emily Stokes-Rees

CMA Committee on Book Award: Joshua Bell (Chair), Adrian Van Allen, Christy DeLair, + at-large CMA member

CMA Committee on Journal: David Odo (Chair), Lea McChesney, Kristin Otto, Emily Stokes-Rees

CMA Communications Committee: Diana Marsh (Chair, General Communications, Website, Anthropology News), Cory Kratz (Facebook), Lillia McEnaney (Blog), Christy DeLair (Anthropology News), Emily Stokes-Rees and Phaedra Livingstone (Journal)

CMA Reception Committee for St. Louis Meeting: Christy DeLair (Chair), Carolyn Heitman, Cara Krmpotich, Diana Marsh + local CMA members

CMA Committee on Conference: Robert Leopold (Chair), Kristin Otto, Jennifer Kramer, Joshua A. Bell, Bruce Bernstein