CMA Board & Committees

Officers and Board of Directors

Robert Leopold (President 2016-2018)
Deputy Director, Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage
Smithsonian Institution
600 Maryland Avenue, SW, Suite 2001
PO Box 37012, MRC 052
Washington, DC 20013-7012
phone: (212) 633-5086
email: leopold@si.edu

Carolyn Heitman (President-elect 2016-2018)
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
833 Oldfather Hall
Department of Anthropology
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68588-0368
phone: (402) 472-7957
email: heitman@unl.edu

Karl Hoerig (Treasurer 2016-2018)
Director, White Mountain Apache Museum, Fort Apache
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Anthropology
University of Arizona
PO Box 64728
Tucson, Arizona 85728
phone: (928) 338-4625
email: khoerig@fortapachearizona.org

Diana E. Marsh (Secretary 2016-2018)
Postdoctoral Fellow, National Anthropological Archives,
Department of Anthropology, National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
4210 Silver Hill Road
Suitland, MD 20746
phone: (301) 238-1190
email: marshd@si.edu

Patricia Capone (Past-President 2016-2018)
Museum Curator, Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology
11 Divinity Avenue
Harvard University
Cambridge, Massachusetts 02138
phone: (617) 496-3702
email: pcapone@fas.harvard.edu

Adrian Van Allen (Board member 2017-2020)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Departement de la recherche et de l’enseignement
Musée du Quai Branly
37 Quai Branly,
75007 Paris, France
phone: +33 1 56 61 70 00
email: adrian@adrianv.com

Sowparnika Balaswaminathan (Student Board member 2017-2019)
Ph.D. Candidate
Department of Anthropology
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, Dept. 0532
La Jolla, CA 92093-0532
phone: (858) 534-2230
email: sbalaswaminathan@ucsd.edu

Joshua A. Bell
 (Board member 2017-2020)
Curator of Anthropology, Department of Anthropology
PO Box 37012
National Museum of Natural History
Smithsonian Institution
Washington, District of Columbia 20013
phone: (202) 633-1935
email: bellja@si.edu

Corinne A. Kratz (Board member 2015-2018)
Emory Director, African Critical Inquiry Program
Professor Emerita, Department of Anthropology
and Institute of African Studies
Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia 30322
phone: (505) 820-0474
email: ckratz@emory.edu

Erica Lehrer (Board member 2017-2020)
Canada Research Chair in Museum and Heritage Studies (2007-2017)
Department of History and Sociology-Anthropology (LB-1029.03)
Concordia University
1455 Demaisonneuve Blvd.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada H3G1M8
phone: (514) 848-2424 ext. 5463
email: erica.lehrer@concordia.ca

Gwendolyn Saul (Board member 2015-2018)
Curator of Ethnography & Ethnology
New York State Museum
CEC Room 3049
Albany, NY 12230 
phone: 518-474-0187
email: Gwendolyn.saul@nysed.gov

W. Warner Wood (Board member 2015-2018)
Associate Professor
Coordinator, Museum Studies Graduate Certificate Program
Department of Anthropology
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
3413 N. Downer Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53211
phone: (414) 229-6323
email: woodw@uwm.edu

 

Editor, Museum Anthropology

Lea McChesney
Curator of Ethnology
Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
MSC01 1050
1 University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131-0001
phone: (505) 277-1936
email: lsmcches@unm.edu

Editorial Assistant, Museum Anthropology

Laura W. Steele
Graduate Student
Department of Anthropology
MSC01-1040, Anthropology 1
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
email: lsteele@unm.edu

Committees for 2017-2018

CMA Nominations Committee: Robert Leopold (Chair), Carolyn Heitman, Corinne Kratz

CMA Awards Committee: W. Warner Wood (Chair), Adrian Van Allen, Karl Hoerig, Joshua Bell

CMA Committee on Book Award: Joshua Bell, Adrian Van Allen + 1 at-large member

CMA Committee on Journal: Gwendolyn Saul (Chair), Diana Marsh, Erica Lehrer, Lea McChesney

CMA Communications Committee: Diana Marsh (Chair), Corinne Kratz, Lillia McEnaney

CMA Reception Committee for San Jose Meeting: Robert Leopold, Karl Hoerig + 2 at-large local members

CMA Committee on Conference: Joshua Bell, Erica Lehrer