US President Barak Obama makes new appointments to the Cultural Property Advisory Committee:

Patty Gerstenblith, Appointee for Chairman, Cultural Property Advisory Committee Patty Gerstenblith is a Distinguished Research Professor and Director of the Center for Art, Museum and Cultural Heritage Law at DePaul University College of Law in Chicago. She is founding president of the Lawyers’ Committee for Cultural Heritage Preservation and is a director of the U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield. Professor Gerstenblith has served as Chair, Senior Advisor, and Vice Chair of the Art and Cultural Heritage Law committee of the American Bar Association Section on International Law. From 1995 until 2002, she served as editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Cultural Property and from 2000 until 2003 as a member of the United States Cultural Property Advisory Committee. Her publications include the casebook Art, Cultural Heritage and the Law. Professor Gerstenblith received an A.B. in Classical and Near Eastern Archeology from Bryn Mawr College, a Ph.D. in Fine Arts and Anthropology from Harvard University and a J.D. from Northwestern University School of Law.

Nancy C. Wilkie, Appointee for Member, Cultural Property Advisory Committee Nancy Wilkie is the William H. Laird Professor of Classics, Anthropology and the Liberal Arts at Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota and a former president of the Archaeological Institute of America. She has conducted archaeological research in Greece, Egypt, Sri Lanka, and Nepal where she served as Senior Fulbright Lecturer. Currently she is the Secretary of the U.S. Committee of the Blue Shield and a member of the Executive Board of the Register of Professional Archaeologists, the Advisory Board of Heritage Watch International, and the Managing Committee of the American School of Classical Studies at Athens. She was first appointed to the Cultural Property Advisory Committee in 2003 by former President George W. Bush. Professor Wilkie received her A.B. from Stanford University and an M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

Recommended Posts